RDF ’07

Wow, I couldn’t wait to watch the Keynote this morning. I mean, after rudely realising that the US is BEHIND Singapore so I had to wait till 7pm local time to even begin hearing Keynote confirmations.
Anyway, after a restless [ok fine I slept like a log] restful night, I logged on and watched the Keynote this morning. All I can say is “wow“. Not “WOW!” but not “meh” either. Lemme explain.

Firstly, compared to the previous Keynote, this one wasn’t that revolutionary…the last one had major unveilings. AppleTV, iPhone, and almost nothing about Leopard [which was part of the fun too actually. I was hoping even till the last minute he’d say something about Leopard].

Well this one was great. There was an obvious focus on Leopard. Stacks in the [already stellar] Dock..hmmm have I seen that somewhere on YouTube before? Not to say I don’t appreciate it. Anything Apple does is fine by me. The new version of the dock, revamped Finder [cover flow: I like!], [whatever happened to the ZFS announcement?], [more powerful] Spotlight, Time Machine, Spaces, ok you already told us all that. Right?
I mean at least 3 of these 10 features he shared with us was already introduced quite some time ago as part of the top ten secret features. If there were 300+ new features, I would’ve thought they’d go over some more of the previously un-mentioned ones.

Well, to me, the most significant iChat upgrades mean nothing. Why? iChat is only available for people with Macs or AOL subscription. You know what would be a great upgrade to iChat? Support for multi-IM protocols. That’d be nice.

And Mail? I don’t buy an operating system because it has a great email program. That’d definitely be an added bonus, but with the advent of rich AJAX-driven webmail interfaces, “making do” with webmail is acceptable by any standards.

New Finder bar, and Stacks [as an upgrade to dock]: not that I’m not impressed, but I don’t feel it should’ve been touted as a top ten feature. I would expect such eye candy in a new version of any operating system. Wouldn’t you?

To me, significant feature upgrades would be 64-bit universal capability, Core Animation, Spaces and Time Machine. QuickLook maybe. Cover Flow in Finder is pure eye candy that’s also pretty useful. And maybe Webclip.

Game support from EA and id? Well, that’s really great, but unless the default hardware comes with more powerful GPUs [even on notebooks], I’ll pass.

64-bit capability is still boggling my mind. An universal OS that supports 64bit and 32bit natively. We finally get to take full advantage of our present 64-bit processors. And one accessible OS for all. No “versions” so people feel bad and buy the most expensive box. *cough*

Core Animation will rawk our socks, once developers start doing truly unique things with it. Even the search demo was mind-blowing. Realtime videos [more than 50] playing in the background simultaneously and *these videos* in turn being animated between the background and foreground. Wow.

Spaces. ‘Nuff said. Finally, virtual desktops come default with a significant commercial operating system [to be fair to Beryl on Linux].

Time Machine? It’s truly an innovative app isn’t it? The only thing I’m worried about is the “Versionator” aspect, which might get a bit unhandy for bigger files, taking up unnecessary space. Moreover, is the backup easily accessible from any other Mac, or even a PC? And not locked in a proprietary format or even in a confusing hierarchy of folders. I saw what happened in my friend’s iPod…scary.

QuickLook is…well, long overdue [as a concept]. But kudos to Apple [first?] to have pulled it off at least now. And it’s based on a plug-in model. Joy.

And I can think of at least 10 “widgets” that I’d want offhand courtesy of Webclip.

Yeah, and of course add to that the other new features, that make the easiest, most elegant range of computers on the planet even more fun to use? Can’t wait for the Leopard launch!

About this entry