Dream Team

Agatha Moonchild
Female
Wild Elf
Sorcerer
Chaotic Good

stats:
Str : 15
Dex : 14
Con : 13
Int : 16
Wis : 3
Cha : 18

biography
I, Agatha Moonchild [I don’t want to discuss the choice of name], princess of the Norgay Svensong lineage, still remember I used to have childish dreams of becoming queen. It was only when a murderous orcish horde overran my peaceful kingdom, and brutally killed, among others, my parents, that I found my calling and decided there and then, that I would devote my life to protecting the innocent from the forces of Evil. I escaped from the orcs, ran from the forest that had been my home for too long, and stumbled into the wise wizard SparrowHawk [EarthSea charcater! snigger] in Athkala. He saw the latent magic in me and trained me, always reminding me to only use my gift for Good. When he died, I left Athkala, going wherever quests took me, helping anyone and everyone I could. In due time, I have rewarded with the companionship of 5 wildly different individuals who have offered me their swords and pledged to walk my path with me. Where life will take me, I cannot say. But where I go, Evil cannot long stay.


Minsc
Male
Human
Ranger
Chaotic Good

stats:
Str : 18
Dex : 18
Con : 18
Int : 7
Wis : 16
Cha : 6

biography
After Minsc’s adventures with Boo and friends took Minsc from Candlekeep to Baldur’s Gate to Amn, from Spellhold to Sahuagin City, Suldanesselar and Hell itself, and finally Tethyr, Minsc parted ways with Minsc’s Bhaalspawn friend, and his wife, Minsc’s patron witch Aerie, and travelled on to Waterdeep. There, while heroically mowing down wave after wave of an Umber Hulk infestation, Minsc saw a young lass lying on the floor, obviously addled by the stare of those big brutes. Minsc courageously rescued the lass as if she were Aerie herself, and indeed, she turned out to be a young witch seeking to introduce evil to pain too, much like Aerie. Minsc immediately made her Minsc’s new patron witch. Jump on my sword while you can Evil. *I* won’t be as gentle.

Erikon Swiftmercy
Male
Shield Dwarf
Lawful Good

stats:
Str : 18
Dex : 18
Con : 20
Int : 12
Wis : 3
Cha : 5

biography
My tale is the same as any other dwarf’s. Or was, until that fateful war that broke out between my kind and the duergars from Tempus-knows-where. What they hoped to achieve, no one knows, to this day. What they achieved, only the smoldering ruins of the Stormhornian caves can fully demonstrate. As those seeming half-crazed monsters descended upon my town, all the miners, including myself, were called to arms and a bloody battle ensued. Most of the damage had already been done; the forge and furnace had been destroyed. All that molten alloy…Tempestown was destroyed, and my family with it. With nothing left to lose, I gathered a band of vengeful comrades and followed the trail of the retreating duergars till it went cold near the Nether Mountains. Closer to Mirabar, we came across Agatha and her somewhat deranged companion investigating the recent spike in frequency and boldness of attacks by the disfavoured races. I parted ways with my brothers at Luskan, and joined Agatha’s party. Although there’s nothing I would like more than to mete out justice to the offending duergars and head back and somehow try to rebuild my life, I now realise something very evil is afoot and is yet to visit Faerun in full force. By Tempus, I will stop it! And nothing will stop me!


ST.Germaine
Half-Elf
Battleguard of Tempus
Neutral Good

stats:
Str : 16
Dex : 16
Con : 15
Int : 7
Wis : 18
Cha : 13
biography:
Yo, the name’s Germaine [don’t want to discuss this name either]. That’s Sergeant Germaine to you. I’ve been in the Battleguard since…forever. It’s a family thing see? Who said only guys could be Battleguards? Anyway, after Advanced Infantry Training [AIT] & Advanced Close Combat Training [ACCT] with my section, I’ve been posted out of my unit in Luskan and attached to your party. My instructions are to aid your party in whatever it is that you’re hoping to do…obviously you’ve impressed the Battleguard Council Elders. Not that I’m half-hearted about the whole job, no! I just can’t stomach all these paranoid conspiracy theories, you dig? These mobs…they’re not too smart. Hell, they’re dumber than rocks. The way I see it, we’re a-gonna kick their candy asses once and for all, for doing nothing they don’t normally do. And so I say, let’s do it! Good riddance.

Garret Catspaw
Tiefling
Rogue
Chaotic Neutral

stats
Str : 17
Dex : 20
Con : 17
Int : 20
Wis : 5
Cha : 7

biography
Traumatised by the events that conspired at the ‘City’, I fled with only the tools of my trade and arrived at Calimport. With sheer skill and intimidation, I quickly rose to the senior ranks of the local Thieves’ Guild. I maintained an aura of enigma about my origins, and everyone seemed to be at unease around me. Purrfect. No one would dare betray someone they don’t even know. In a plot to topple the Beggars’ Guild hierarchy, I was scouting the subterranean caverns they call asylum, when I discovered a most unholy oubliette, yesss…guarded by unnatural living skeletons and walking cadavers, whose existence had made me flee the ‘City’ in the first place. It was only my refined sneaking ability that enabled me to get in, and out for that matter. What I saw deeper inside, in a great hall, was most…interesting. A heated argument among key figures of the disfavoured races. I couldn’t make out exactly what they were saying, and I didn’t want to stay too long, lest my luck should run out. On my way out, I saw Agatha and her party doing battle with the undead minions. It was in my benefit to not let these fools attract more attention, so I led them through a secret passageway that the creatures were not able to enter, and promptly arrived back in familiar surroundings. They claimed to be investigating the source of the monster mayhem, and I admit….my interest had been piqued as well. This was…bigger than a petty squabble among guilds. I offered my dubious yet valuable services, in exchange for a place on the party. They say curiosity killed the cat. Big deal; I’ll have eight lives left.


Ser Ian Dravid
Male
Aasimar
Paladin Of Mystra
Lawful Good

stats
Str : 17
Dex : 16
Cons : 15
Int : 8
Wis : 20
Cha : 15

biography:
Upholding all that is right and good is a crusade that knows no boundaries, nor is it confined to a nation or its borders. Ser Ian Dravid is our best wizard-slayer, having personally subdued more than 20 deviants singlehandedly. Nay, not a black mark on his record that I know of; he is really as godly as a god’s son can be. However, he wishes to be known for his own credits, not for his father’s legacy, and as such has not yet divulged his true lineage. The Church has been his home since he was a boy, the Archbishop a father-figure. For such an overachieving individual, he is alarmingly humble, only venturing to speak if it is absolutely essential, and only enthusiastic when enraged with righteous fury. I suspect he is also a bit uncomfortable around the opposite sex, but don’t you worry Agatha. With Ser Ian, duty comes first, before everything else. Even fear or desire. Which is why it was extremely surprising when Ser Ian himself volunteered to be given leave to join your party.
ST. Germaine was his childhood friend, and she has convinced him about making this journey, though I suspect this is not the only reason. Since you had appealed to our Order Of The Most Radiant Heart for help, we would have sent Ser Ian anyway. It’s almost relieving then, to send one not only duty-bound but also willing, and wanting, to go. Godspeed, and good luck fair Agatha. May Helm watch over you.

Yours sincerely, Rev Bishop Josepheus Knecht


Cool eh? I wrote the biographies myself! And tweaked their stat points a bit so I won’t end up playing the whole game in regret. I know most of the characters sound like the high-n-mighty sort, so what? I like to be good…at least in games. makes me feel better. Much better. I also tried to adopt different styles to tell their story, for a more personal touch. The cities and locales mentioned mostly exist for real in the Forgotten Realms; I only took some liberty in some cases [like Tempestown…yeah].

The names of the characters are also mostly original as names get. I had a lot of trouble with last names.
Minsc was my fave character from BG2.
Erikon Swiftmercy, completely made up, trust me. He’s a dwarf see, and I wanted a Viking-ish character. And Erik sounded like a Viking-ish name, if not a tad un-Faerun-like. Swiftmercy…I wanted a description of his fighting style, which is also based on his alignment. As lawful good, I don’t think he’s the type that takes great pleasure in killing people unnecessarily or painfully.
Garrett is the name of the protagonist in the Thief games, which I tried briefly, and liked immensely. His original last name was Littlefinger, a tribute to George R R Martin, but it didn’t sound right. As I typed the word ‘perfect’, I got tempted to type as purrfect, and that alone made me change his name to Catspaw, to give him a feral feline personality.
Ian Dravid, that’s me! They say having a paladin is not so useful in IWD2, since you can multi-class anyway. But what the hell, I wouldn’t have this character any other class. Even previously, when I mentioned a Bard Blade or Roge Swashbuckler as potential inclinations, I was imagining a Robin Hood kinda character…so. Quote: “…though I suspect that is not the only reason.”…Dr De, if you’re reading this, this’s why I was aiming for medicine initially. And why I’m not anymore. Relative to my previous self, I’m almost astral now.

Damn, it’s gonna be a great gaming season! I love Forgotten Realms Games, period.

About this entry