Excerpt from Waking Life [which I’m going to vote …

Excerpt from Waking Life [which I’m going to vote as the GEB:EGB of movies]:

Woman: Just about reincarnation and where all the new souls come from over time. Everybody always says they are the reincarnation of Cleopatra or Alexander the Great. I always want to tell them they were probably some dumbf*** like everybody else. I mean, it’s impossible. Think about it. The world population has doubled in the past 40 years, right? So if you really believe in that ego thing of one eternal soul, then you have only 50% chance of your soul being over 40, and for it to be over 150 years old, then it’s only one out of six.

Man: Right, so what are you saying? That reincarnation doesn’t exist, or that we’re all young souls, or half of us are first round humans?

Woman: No, no, what I’m trying to say is that somehow I believe reincarnation is just a poetic expression of what collective memory really is. There was this article by this bio-chemist I read not long ago, and he was talking about how when a member of our species is born, it has a billion years of memory to draw on. And this is where we inherit our instincts.

Muchas gracias to American-Buddha for the screenplay.

Think about this. *WILL be expanded later.

About this entry