Ekshpenschiffe

Hear ye, hear ye. Heard of Wobbly Headed Bob? Perhaps not; it’s relatively unknown to most ‘cept if you’re a fan of Jhonen Vasquez’s twisted works [Invader Zim!! and Johnny The Homicidal Maniac]. It’s about this deformed…I havent figured out what kinda creature it is, but it can talk and humans don’t seem alarmed by that fact so maybe it’s a midget human that’s so supremely intelligent, it’s enlightened. Yep, enlightened and hating it..ha!


He didn’t ask to be, but he is…
WOBBLY HEADED BOB
…the pain, the pain…


Sometimes I feel like Wobbly Headed Bob, minus the enlightened bit. The price of intelligence is happiness. I’m just re-phrasing, I’m sorry. Ignorance IS bliss! There are many types of ignorance, as I recently discovered:

Known Unknowns
All the things you know you don’t know.

Unknown Unknowns
All the things you know you don’t know.

Errors
All the things you think you know but don’t.

Unknown Knowns
All the things you don’t know you know

Taboo
Dangerous, forbidden or polluting knowledge.

Denial
All the things too painful to know, so you don’t.

Cool eh? All this emphasis on *knowing* reminds me of Dak’kon but don’t make me digress. Look at this; it’s almost as if ignorance is mankind’s tool to stay happy. A virtual drug, to remove the need to *know* something unpleasant / overwhemingly pleasant that’ll remove / install happiness in life permanently. Perhaps we NEED both misery and joy but misery more than joy; what’s pleasure without pain?

Opinion: what’s interesting is that the price of ignorance is desire for knowledge, not knowledge itself. Isn’t it true? It’s cyclic reasoning. You dont know because you dont want to know because you don’t know that you dont know.

The dangers of ignorance? The seven social sins [Gandhi]:

politics without principle
wealth without work
commerce without morality
pleasure without conscience
education without character
science without humanity
worship without sacrifice

The social sins in themselves may not have ignorance plastered visibly over them, but it’s like inferring that ignorance is one of causes of the seven deadly sins, pride, envy, wrath, sloth, gluttony, lust, and greed. Ignorance of the existence of the sinful attitude / behaviour [within oneself] and ignorance of the consequences / repurcussions causes Man to be tempted and content with instant gratification of his wants. Something like that..

I was discussing with a friend the nature of truth [as in opposite of lie AND NOT absolute truth] and I claimed [I’m an INTP and I quote: An INTP arguing a point may very well be trying to convince himself as much as his opposition. From typelogic.com] and he subsequently agreed [for once!] that truth is very subjective. What we define as truth is a version of the truth [I’m trying not to bring Godel into this and sound wannabe-ish] that we believe or want to believe and want to be able to believe. Sad but true, why else do you have words like “incredible” in the dictionary, phrases like “bitter truth” in common usage and the word truth itself having a mildly negative connotation in lingual terms? “Truth”: something bleak and searingly painful, invoking images of UV fly-traps [and this, despite “blue” as a colour considered to be calming and soothing, perhaps related to its association with water and to the sky. From wiki] the size of a planet with all the brightness and unapproachability of a supernova, despite being a beacon offering hope to those in the far away darkness. Irony, you struggle to get close, and as you get closer, you find yourself not wanting to. Thesis: humans are logic-flies.

I digress. So truth is not knowledge. Truth is to knowledge like a can of Nescafe [what flavour would you like today?] to a coffee bean [not to scale. geez!] You may or may not believe something is the truth, and that would mean a good chance of believe falsity or incomplete statements to be true. But knowledge HAS to be true, has to be believed to be true, and there must be good reason to believe it to be true.

Concerning knowledge: “Intelligence: knowing how much you really don’t know. (also referred to as wisdom) 2. Ignorance: not knowing much about a given subject. 3. Stupidity: knowing something and just plain ignoring what you know. (repeating mistakes) 4. Knowledge: a small fraction of the total sum of understanding on any given subject. 5. Experience: remembering to always stock an extra roll of toilet paper in your bathroom close at hand. 😉 *Source = Jerry Keslensky” [from e2]

Knowledge is power? In a fashion, yes. I used to believe it blindly. But ater watching [ok don’t laugh] this particular episode of Archie Mysteries [ok cut it out! It was the one where Moose gets teased for being a dunce and goes to the brainy guy who tests out his new invention that allows Moose to memorise many things and his head actually swells and he starts spewing drops of knowledge [AND NOT wisdom] at random and starts terrorising the town [somehow] and is finally stopped by Archie telling him that just *knowing* a lot of stuff doesn’t mean he understands every bit of it.] , I saw the light. Knowledge alone is not enough. Anyone who’s heard of epistemology and hermenutics will agree that without comprehension [and by this I mean the understanding of the knowledge and the implications and the applications of that knowledge], knowing is pretty useless. Without comprehension, knowledge can become trivia on the back of you breakfast cereal box. Almost instantly, “capisce” becomes a profound word, worthy of respect and worship, doesn’t it?

Now that I’ve acknowledged that a lifetime isn’t enough to *know* and understand everything, being a jack of all trades is the next best thing. If I were an adventurer in a D&D world, I’d be a bard. Anytime. A Blade Bard. I quote Minsc as inspiration for battle-cries: “Jump on my sword while you can, evil. -I- won’t be as gentle.” or even “EVIL, MEET MY SWORD! SWORD, MEET EVIL!!!!” or even “AAAH! Minsc will be free! These bonds will not hold my wrath! Butts will be liberally kicked in good measure!”

Haha. Nostalgia…big sigh. I really loved Baldur’s Gate II. I love that game more than any other game I’ve ever played [not even Planescape: Torment!]. Ever since I played it, the appeal of any other game has gone down dramatically. It was such an involving game, that I kept restarting so many times to get the perfect party with perfect stats so I’d have a beautiful gaming experience. I even installed all those extra dialogue mods so that the game’d be more involving. In the end, it was sooo involving I couldn’t bring myself to play it again. ever. Not even now. I played the game with so much dedication that I can remember cutscenes and plot advances and level designs even now. If I played it again, I’d actually get bored, cos I’ve never forgotten anything about the game in the first place. From the Holy Avenger to the Celestial Fury, from Wail Of The Banshee to Summon Fallen Deva, from Paladin Cavalier to Wild Mage, from Jaheira to Sarevok, from Yoshimo to Yagashura, I’ve never forgotten. They just don’t make games like Baldur’s Gate 2 anymore. Sigh..

About this entry