The truth about l-words

Tip: BODMAS is a great thing. Keep in mind the hierarchy of the parentheses to avoid getting confused.

Life: I have been contemplating [again! and again and again and again] and I still havent figured out….[what do you think I’m going to say? “I haven’t figured out the meaning of life”? “I havent figured out who put us here on earth”? “I havent figured out what my purpose is in life”? Nah, I try never to flatter myself.]…which kinda philosophy I should follow that will enable me to live out life to the fullest, unleashing as much of my potential as possible. I just did this quiz:

You scored as Existentialism. Your life is guided by the concept of Existentialism: You choose the meaning and purpose of your life. Man is condemned to be free; because once thrown into the world, he is responsible for everything he does.

It is up to you to give [life] a meaning.–Jean-Paul Sartre

It is man’s natural sickness to believe that he possesses the Truth. –Blaise Pascal

More info at Arocoun’s Wikipedia User Page…

Existentialism

100%

Hedonism

90%

Justice (Fairness)

75%

Strong Egoism

70%

Utilitarianism

55%

Nihilism

50%

Kantianism

35%

Apathy

30%

Divine Command

0%

What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)
created with QuizFarm.com

I sort of expected that. I’ve been an existentialist even before I heard of the word. I guess it all started in Sec1 when I went through that thoroughly morbid phase [tagline of that period: We’re all going to die anyway!]. Yeah, and what I really felt at that time was this contempt for religion [I still do, but at least it’s a better-informed decision now] and law and relationships [I used to think [maybe I still do] that relationships are like handcuffs to life, like excuses for people not to kill themselves.] and rote learning and bimbotic behaviour, among other things. And yeah the whole Mr. Smith-attitude was getting to my head. Anyway, existentialism makes sense. Whatever happened has happened. You are here now. It doesnt matter if you never do find out why or how. Just don’t waste what time you have. Purpose isn’t imposed on you, [I wish it were!] so you gotta set one for yourself. That is the essence of existentialism if you ask me.

Lol, I quote from an e2 node: Life: Opposite of Usenet. As in “Get a life!”

Devil’s Dictionary by Ambrose Pierce

life n.:
A spiritual pickle preserving the body from decay. We live in daily apprehension of its loss; yet when lost it is not missed. The question, “Is life worth living?” has been much discussed; particularly by those who think it is not, many of whom have written at great length in support of their view and by careful observance of the laws of health enjoyed for long terms of years the honors of successful controversy.

There is the anthropic way of looking at things [if one wants to be a die-hard atheist], but why do we assume that we’re one of the smartest creatures to walk the planet? I knew it, viruses are geniuses. Every single one of them.


Love: I am half-tempted to not ever mention this word properly anymore. It’s cliched because it’s overused and overrated because it’s cliched. Cyclic reasoning is an understatement. It has very little meaning cos of weathering from over-exposure. I was looking around for the node that I feel best describes what I feel about dropping the word freely and needlessly but I now remember it’s from that Julian Barnes’ half-chapter in A History Of The World In 10 & 1/2 Chapters. Your loss.

So anyway, this lurve is like a virus. It infects anyone with an overactive ungrounded imagination and the superheroic ability to flatter oneself. [I admit, I made that up just like that. It’s flair I say. [And a whole of cynicism..]] A lotta people ask me why. No reason, and NO it’s NOT past failures. Thanks for asking but really, no thanks.

You scored as Single by choice. You are a free-thinking single individual that does not rely very much on the help of others and hence find it difficult to get attached to one person. It may well mean that you won’t start a family, but it also means you will be free of choice forever.

Single by choice

75%

Married

70%

Single by mistake

45%

M. W. Kids

30%

Will you stay single or get married? *pics*
created with QuizFarm.com

I mean think about it. There is no scientific explanation/anything [even in psychiatry] for the phenomenon of love. They have found a plausible explanation for the concept of memory [linking of relevant synapses everytime relevant associations are made to a particular piece of info], an scientific “cure” for severe depression [vagal nerve stimulation], a scientific discovery linking a specific gene variation to neuro-chemica activity that might cause schizophrenia, but really groping blindly in the dark, clutching at invisible straws when it comes to love [unless you consider this valid: Brain Scans and Love. But seriously, this looks like a Eternal Sunshine ripoff.].

What I think is that it’s really [I quote Smith] “a feeble human intellect” trying to mask the simple outright urgency of lust under several layers of “complex” “emotions” and sell it to the public as love.

People say I can be prejudiced. How true.


I checked the thesaurus for a synonym of truth starting with the letter l. Couldn’t find any. Coincidentally [or not], I found “lie”.

Truth: A recent discussion highlighted to me the linguistic limitation of defining truth. Maybe it’s pseudo-philosophy, or maybe you think it’s bull, but I think it’s worth mentioning.

Truth, pravda, waarheid, vero, totuus, igazsag, emet, vera, veritas, kebenaran, resnica, sanning and whatever else you want to call it, in light of Godel’s theorems and their implications, means whatever you -believe- to be the truth. Am I making sense? I’m thinking there can be no one universal truth, or if there is, it cannot be known in an objective manner because objective implies [in a way] that the scientific approach is in use. And science is a venture into the implications/consequences of axioms. It’s like the logic counterpart of “is my red your red?”.

Instead there’s versions of truth. Some versions may be extremely similar to one another but the distiniction must be made. It’s either your truth, my truth, his truth, her truth, their truth, our truth, but never -the- truth. Now do I make sense? No? Oh I see your problem. Stop pretending to be illiterate and read up on Godel please?

That’s not to say I’m the authority on Gode or anything else for that matterl. I’m not forcing anyone to agree with me; in fact I invite debate. But I dont see how one can agree or disagree without comprehending, and I dont appreciate the reader reading all this but refusing to make any effort to comprehend.

Penny for the readers’ thoughts? On truth I mean.

About this entry